Carmelite Monastery

The Carmelite Monastery is a community of cloistered nuns, established by Mother Teresa Margaret in 1950, whose sole apostolate is prayer. St. Teresa founded the Discalced Carmelite Nuns in Avila, Spain in the 16th Century to pray for priests. The nuns offer their prayerful seeking after union with God as a living sacrifice for the Church. In this way, although strictly cloistered, they help Jesus--—their King, Friend, and Spouse--—to bring about the salvation of souls.


MARKEY, Mother Mary of Jesus, O.C.D., Prioress
AUNE, Sr. Perpetua Marie, O.C.D.
BLACKBURN, Sr. Pia Trinita, O.C.D.
PIOTROWSKI, Sr. Carmel Regina, O.C.D.
PITTIS, Sr. Miriam Elias, O.C.D.
WHITE, Sr. Mary Magdalene, O.C.D.
Postulant Jyllian Carter

3501 Silver Lake Road
Traverse City, MI 49684
231-946-4960 - phone
231-947-7729 - fax
231-947-6935 –- Chaplain's phone –

For more information, visit the website.

Sacramentine Monastery

The Sacramentine Monastery was initially founded in 1951 in Michigan for the express purpose of opening a House of Prayer. Currently the Monastery is housed in the Augustine Center in Conway, Michigan, which was named after Mother Mary Augustine, foundress of the Sacramentine Sisters. The public is welcome to call the Monastery to request prayers for special needs and intentions and also to participate at Mass. Mass is offered Saturday morning at 9:00 am and Sunday mornings at 7:30 am.

Sr. Mary Rosalie Smith, OSS
2798 US 31 North
PO Box 86
Conway, MI 49722-0086
231-347-0447 - phone
231-347-9502 - fax